Bed and Breakfast Matlock

Peak District B&B Quality Accommodation

Castle Green Guest Older Reviews

A very warm welcome

24 Jul 2016 - Alex and Kim B


Very warm welcome, great room, lovely breakfast, going to stay again.

Thank you John and Janet

Dreamy bed

20 Jul 2016 - Roy and Jan S


Delicious breakfast

Dreamy bed

Disability needs kindly cared for by

Delightful & welcoming hosts. Thank You

Lovely welcome

22 Jul 2016 - Tony and Lynne S


Lovely welcome, lovely room, great breakfast.

Oh, and sunshine!


17 Jul 2016 - Sheila and Pat


Another enjoyable stay, thank you


14 Jul 2016 - Kay and Bas


Very comfortable and friendly stay, lovely people


A wonderful place

07 Jul 2016 - Gavin, Carol and Dana


A wonderful place to stay. We were made very welcome. The breakfast was great and the rooms very comfortable.

Lovely spot

03 Jul 2016 - Diby and Val


Lovely spot and b&b! Hope to be back in the future

Thank you

03 Jul 2016 - Gloria and Dave


Thank you for a lovely, peaceful stay. Lovely breakfast & room and very friendly.


30 Jun 2016 - Sandy and Pete


Thank you for a lovely stay. Peaceful and very friendly. Will defiantly recommend your beautiful home

3 wonderful nights

26 Jun 2016 - Steve and Jessie


We have had 3 wonderful nights here. Lovely friendly welcome from Janet. Excellent breakfast, lovely clean & quiet place to stay. We will certainly return.

Delightful stay

26 Jun 2016 - Susan and Phil


Delightful stay we shall be back. Thank you for all your help

Lovely stay

26 Jun 2016 - Pat and Wax


Lovely stay. Beautiful room, geogeus breakfast, thank you very much


Beautiful house

24 Jun 2016 - Sue M


Made to feel very welcome, host very friendly. Very clean rooms tastefully decorated with wonderful comfy bed. Will definitely recommend to friends and will stay again in the future. Thanks

A gem!

22 Jun 2016 - Chris C


For a friendly and convenient place to stay when visiting the Derbyshire Dales. Excellent breakfasts and rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Well to be recommended.


20 Jun 2016 - Sandra and Ross D


Much thanks-lovely room, breakfast & such friendly people

Friendly and accommodating

19 Jun 2016 - Sara and David


Warm welcome, friendly and comfortable hotel. Refreshing to see owners taking guest safely so seriously. Many thanks.


18 Jun 2016 - Des and Trisch


Very comfortable stay and first class breakfast. Thank you.

Excellent Hosts

18 Jun 2016 - Nigel and Ruth


Excellent hosts who work very hard to make sure their guests have a happy stay


Very happy

17 Jun 2016 - Margaret and Eileen


Very happy stay excellent Hosts


16 Jun 2016 - Dacia B


A very pleasant stay and good company


Many thanks

14 Jun 2016 - Sue and Garry


Many thanks for a lovely stay and a lovely breakfast

Thank you

14 Jun 2016 - Glenys M


My friend and I stayed in the premier room with its walk in shower and it is 5 star place. 1st class breakfasts to start the day. will be staying again. xx

Excellent Stay

10 Jun 2016 - Julie and Maureen


Excellent stay friendly, lovely room and breakfast. Thank you for an enjoyable break. Hope to come back again

I hope to be back

09 Jun 2016 - Julie R


From the moment I arrived I was made to feel part of the family a truly loving home. I would defiantly recommend you to my family and friends and I hope to be back for a few days again next year. Thank you breakfast to die for.

Wonderful welcome

09 Jun 2016 - Margaret, Barry, Peter, Pauline, Libby and Herb


What a wonderful welcome we had with Janet felt like we had known her for years. Lovely fresh breakfast and rooms

Excellent B & B

09 Jun 2016 - Marion and Colin


Excellent B&B warm friendly hosts a very enjoyable 5 night stay

Excellent B&B

03 Jun 2016 - Stephen D


Wonderful secluded B&B, Fantastic breakfast. Janet and John were friendly hosts. Excellent room an all round brilliant break and place to stay. We will certainly return. Highly recommended place to stay.

Thank you

03 June 2016 - Patricia B


A lovely welcome and a really relaxing stay. Breakfast was lovely and the room was great too. We were made to feel at home. Thank you

Great Stay (again)

02 June 2016 - Vicar of Kirkham


Once again this warm, friendly, immaculately clean B&B was just great. The location is really quiet and the B&B perfect us in every sense. This was our second stay and we will be back again....

Enjoyable Break

31 May 2016 - Gary


Lovely 3-night break in peaceful surroundings. Clean Comfortable room Janet and John very friendly. Breakfast just as we like it. I would highly recommend Castle Green to anyone considering staying in the Matlock area.

Full marks

30 May 2016 - Mary and her group


Full marks-with special commendation for coffee

5 Stars

30 May 2016 - Sue and Phil


Lovely break excellent 5 star B&B Will return

Brilliant Breakfast

12 May 2016 - Roger H


Excellent accommodation brilliant breakfast and lovely Hosts


A Big Thank You

20 May 2016 - Sue Jennings


Just to say thanks again for a lovely break, 5* accommodation and we really enjoyed your breakfasts great way to start the day. See you again soon.


10 May 2016 - Hoste Spalding


  Very Comfortable And Relaxing Thank You


08 May 2016 - Jan & Neil, Sheffield


  Beautiful guest house, fantastic hosts, Brilliant Breakfast. Would definitely come again..and again  thank yo so much xxx

Lovely Host

07 May 2016 - Carol & Rick


  Lovely Host. Brilliant place  hopefully see you again


06 May 2016 - Juliet R


 Thanks again!


03 May 2016 - Mel and Sarah


 Brilliant! Great bed,wonderful breakfast, lovely host.  We will be back x

Fab Hosts

24 Apr 2016 - Karen & Brian


Fab Hosts, Delicious breakfast, Great B&B.  Cheers xx

Spot On :)

22 Apr 2016 - Daz


We just got back from spending 2 nights here. Very good location, from which to explore the surrounding area. Very clean,well equipped rooms, and found it extremely comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. Janet and John were very welcoming and friendly, made us feel really comfortable, couldn’t fault the place, will definitely stay there again.


20 Apr 2016 - Donald and Anne


Thank you so much for the usual Very comfortable stay.


20 Apr 2016 - Derek C


If you want a home from home experience then PLEASE stay here!


15 Apr 2016 - Haller & Burton-Smith


Thank you for looking after us! Great beds!

Perfect Weekend

15 Apr 2016 - Sree Kumar


A great place to stay for exploring the Matlock area. Janet and John are fantastic hosts. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was great. We will be back soon.


15 Apr 2016 - Pearson


Lovely as ever! Very comfortable bed!

5 Star Stay

11 Apr 2016 - Bill Davis


Had another fantastic stay at castle green it really is a lovely place .The premier room is on the ground floor and has a super king bed with a luxurious mattress aside the running fridge and the bathroom is a spacious wet room Janet couldn't do enough to make you feel at home and the breakfast 1st class we will be staying again soon


07 Apr 2016 - James H.


Very comfortable stay - thanks for everything

Thank you

05 Apr 2016 - Kirsty & Jonny


Had a really lovely quiet, comfortable stay. Breakfast was really lovely too-thank you very much!


05 Apr 2016 - Smiths from Plymouth


Couldn’t be bettered, thank you so much


05 Apr 2016 - Mark


We had a great stay Janet and John made us so welcome from arriving to leaving. The room was great and breakfast second to none. We will be back


04 Apr 2016 - John from Wirral



Lovely place, thoroughly recommended

04 Apr 2016 - Isabelle & Betty


My friend and I stayed 1 night here and it was fantastic, the host John and Janet were great. Rooms very confortable and the food was great.


31 Mar 2016 - Hazel & Mike


A great stay but to short.

Great B & B

31 Mar 2016 - Howe Family


Great B&B. Fab hosts. Lovely room. It felt like home. p.s. Lovely Breakfast thank you!


28 Mar 2016 - Aovil & Stella


Brilliant B&B thank you

Super Weekend

26 Mar 2016 - Stephen J.


Just what we were looking for to have a little break. Friendly host, lovely room and smashing breakfast. A great little pub just down the road with good beer and nice food.


25 Mar 2016 - Martin and Donna


An excellent one night stay in this homely B & B. Really comfortable bed, lovely en-suite bathroom and a great breakfast. Next time around we'll look to stop an extra night or two. Thank you Janet & John


25 Mar 2016 - Hill Family


Great stay very happy we will come again


19 Mar 2016 - Cilla and Des


What a lovely stay we will be back


19 Mar 2016 - Lorraine and Phil


Great Hotel, lovely stay

Very friendly staff

29 Feb 2016 - David and Alice


Warm welcome. Pleasant and cosy stay. Quite and peaceful. Very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay. Would like to come back again. Thank You.

Highly recommended

29 Feb 2016 - Daniel and Vicki


Run by really nice and friendly hosts. Room clean and comfortable, as well as the bathroom. Good location and a nice pub, the Red Lion, really close. We would like to stay again in the future.

Lovely Stay

28 Feb 2016 - Rachael and John



Great Stay

27 Feb 2016 - Mike and Rosie


Thank you for a great stay. Very quiet. Very accommodating for both of us and our 13month old. Will defiantly be back xx


22 Feb 2016 - Mike and Rosie


Stopped for my wife's birthday. Can not fault the place. Janet and John lovely and friendly. Room was delightful, décor was beautiful. The bed was enormous and easily the comfiest bed we have ever slept in.  Breakfast was plentiful both in choice and quantity. More importantly, piping hot and freshly cooked. Definitely be stopping again. Highly recommended.


21 Feb 2016 - Stuart


Lovely welcome, good location, great rooms and nice breakfast. Recommended.

Lovely b+b

16 Feb 2016 - Jo and Steve


We have just returned from a two night stay at Castlegreen. We cannot fault anything. There were complimentary chocolates on the bed as it was Valentine's Day. The shower was the best shower we have ever had. The room was very clean and cosy. We wish we could have stayed longer. Thankyou Janet and John you are the perfect hosts.

Above and beyond

08 Feb 2016 - Nigel


A warm Welcome, great room & Breakfast, I had very wet outdoor equipment that needed to be dried for the morning and Janet was more than accommodating to my peculiar needs.


Castle Green stay

16 Nov 2015 - Kenneth W


Lovely B&B, very comfortable, excellent facilities, made to feel very welcome by John and Janet. I would be happy to return and recommend it without reservation.

Simply perfect

11 Dec 2015 - Andy and Sharon


We're frequent visitors to the area and can honestly say we've never stayed in a nicer place, ever. The room was bright, spotless and immensely comfortable. The en suite bathroom had a superb shower too. We visited as a wedding anniversary jaunt and there was even a box of chocs on the bed on arrival. Janet was lovely, helpful and cooked a fantastic breakfast as well. We genuinely felt like guests rather than clients. Wonderful stuff and we'll see you next year!

A welcome rest!

08 Dec 2015 - Alan


A lovely, comfortable room with a powerful and refreshing shower. Lovely breakfast and a short stroll to the Red Lion makes this a very welcome rest!

Lovely time

08 Dec 2015 - Roger and Jordan


Lovely B&B, very welcoming, lovely clean room & en-suite. Nice location from town centre & Red Lion for evening meals & late drinks - We hope to visit again!

Fabulous B&B

07 Dec 2015 - Mr and Mrs Nicholson


First impressions always are the best and I have to say that in this case everything was perfect.  The owners were fantastic, the breakfasts and facilities were five stars and the rooms were gorgeous.  We will be going back and highly recommending the accommodation to our friends.

Excellent B&B

22 Nov 2015 - Yvonne T


Lovely friendly host. Spotlessly clean rooms with excellent facilities. Ex suite was excellent - double shower with good pressure and nice complimentary shampoo and shower gel products.   Loved the fact that there was "proper" milk in the fridge to go with the tea and coffee facilities and not the individual UHT milk. Breakfast was well presented , lovely and hot and very tasty and served with a smile. Excellent will return.


16 Nov 2015 - Chris J


Just an overnight stay so limited experience but very welcoming and comfortable. Would definitely recommend

A warm and welcoming B&B

11 Nov 2015 - Katy and Steve


A perfectly located B&B for walks into Matlock and Matlock Bath. The B&B is run by John and Janet a lovely couple who keep the place spotless and cook a great breakfast. It has a very welcoming feel to it and we shall certainly return in the future.


30 Oct 2015 - Brenda


Very welcoming, spotlessly clean; shower hot and powerful. Whole house is very warm - no need for your thermals. Breakfast tasty and cooked to order; other guests, who were regular customers endorsed the return factor.


26 Oct 2015 - Mark and Liz


Superb room. Lovely breakfast. Perfectly located to explore the local area. Janet and John are fantastic hosts. Hope to see you all again.

Welcoming and comfortable

25 Oct 2015 - Bob and Lorraine


From the moment we entered castle green we felt welcomed. The room was clean,comfortable, great shower. Breakfasts we had were the best we have had in a b+b. Janet and John were friendly and helpful. A b+b to be proud of. A great location. We will be making another visit.


24 Oct 2015 - Walter


Rustige locatie, propere kamer ,heerlijk ontbijt en erg vriendelijke mensen. Zeker een aanrader!

Home from Home

19 Oct 2015 - Clement


Wonder full homely clean quite warmly good couples J and J. If your looking somewhere to stay like home. This is the place.

Excellent Guest House

10 Oct 2015 - Joy and Bob Knight


Arrived way too early and was greeted by Janet who was very friendly and allowed us to access our room straight away. We stayed for three nights, room was very clean and tidy and the breakfast was superb. John and Janet were very welcoming and helpful and will definitely stay again when in Matlock.

Great Stay

12 Oct 2015 - Andy and Jo


Stayed for 2 nights at the weekend, excellent accommodation, excellent breakfast and excellent hosts! Will be back.

First Class B & B

28 Sep 2015 - Karen and Chris


Shame we could only stay a couple of days - very welcoming, lovely room & very powerful shower. Nice walk to the red lion for dinner & perfect location for exploring the area - we'll be back!

Stay in September

28 Sep 2015 - Dave Hammonds


Had a lovely stay at the castle green bb very clean and Janet was very helpful, a1 place to stay


24 Sep 2015 - Paul Stadley


I took my mom for s special birthday break and I'm pleased to say that she thought that this is the loveliest guest house/B&B she has stayed at. It really was an enjoyable and relaxing experience and the hosts very friendly, Highly recommended. Would love to stay again

A Lovely Stay

22 Sep 2015 - Paul Stanlet


A lovely stay,beautiful place, thank you.

Hope to come again.


22 Sep 2015 - Anne Benony


Friendly, comfortable just right


22 Sep 2015 - Judy and Allen


Thanks for a great B&B

Breakfast Great

Spotlessly clean

22 Sep 2015 - Ellen and Dave Osbourne


Absolutely lovely wonderful stay, spotlessly clean, very friendly hosts highly recommended, food delicious.


Wonderful time

22 Sep 2015 - Lesley and John Deans


Wonderful time, we will be back hopefully soon x

Thanks very much


   Aug 2015 - Tomlinson


Fabulous best nights sleep in a while! thanks

Dev recommend

   Aug 2015 - Towes


Thank you for a lovely time.

Dev recommend you xxx

Lovely welcome

   Aug 2015 - CONES


Stayed Aug 2015, a lovely welcome, lovely room, lovely breakfast

thank you

Excellent stay

   Jul 2015 - Carol and nigel newell



Another excellent and top class stay, we will be back again xxx

Top class

   Jul 2015 - Carol and Tony Bacon


Stayed Aug 2015, a lovely welcome, lovely room, lovely breakfast

thank you

Four in a bed

   Jun 2015 - Anne Hollie


Great Breakfast

Look forward to seeing you on Four in a Bed


Home from Home

   Jun 2015 - Judie Clark


Home from Home again, thanks Janet and John


   Jun 2015 - Ken and Eve Brereton


Splendid time here, recommend xxx


   Jun 2015 - Peter and Jane


Wonderful in every way, thank you

Super Break

   May 2015 - Dick and Marilyn Salisbury


Super break, super room, great hosts, we will be back, EXCELLENT B&B

Lovely Stay

   May 2015 - Dawn & Alan Ward


Lovely stay, Will be back again and will recommend.

Lovely room and great breakfast, friendly staff.

can not fault

Great stay

   May 2015 - Danny & Joanne


Great Room, Fantastic Hosts, Wonderful Breakfast

Very Pleasant Stay

   Apr 2015 - Martin Haworth


My only negative thought was that we could only stay one night! Our schedule dictated otherwise. The accommodation is of a very high spec, very clean and comfortable. The location is secluded and yet you aren't far away from the centre of town. The breakfast was excellent and set us up nicely for the day. John and Janet are welcoming hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. You'll not be disappointed.


   Apr 2015 - Zahra


Excellent B&B. Restful stay. John and Janet lovely. Breakfast had good variety


   Apr 2015 - Vicky & Geoff Creasey


Excellent family room, fantastic breakfast and fabulous hosts! Thank you.


   Feb 2015 - Kirsty


An excellent place, we felt ever so welcomed throughout the stay. Lovely room with some very nice personal touches. Excellent food, not a single fault! Wonderful :)


   Feb 2015 - Margaret Hammond


Everything was perfect. Good location. Food perfect. Room very comfortable.